Spiced Sweet Potato

Spiced Sweet Potato

This recipe evolved out of my very first attempt to cook sweet potato (or yams) myself. I have had sweet potato before, but had never made it myself before this day. I have a little game I like to play with myself. Every time I go to the grocery store or farmer’s market, I try a new fruit or vegetable. Sometimes, I even will just try a new recipe with an “old” fruit or vegetable too. This keeps me challenged and trying new things constantly. This is how my love with eggplant, spaghetti squash, persimmon, fennel, kale, figs and many other things have started. Growing up, we didn’t eat much variety, so now I crave it! Hope you enjoy this deliciously sweet and spicy recipe.

photo 4

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 2 sweet potatoes (or 2 cups)
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg, Chili Powder, Smoked Paprika (regular will do too), Salt & Pepper to taste

photo 5

Instructions:

To start,

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F
  2. Chop up the potatoes. I prefer a rustic cubed look
  3. Place the potatoes in a large bowl and drizzle on olive oil
  4. Toss to coat potatoes

photo 1

Now, the fun part! Sprinkle on spices and toss to coat. Here’s what’s fun about it: You get to decide how much of each spice you like. These are POWERFUL flavors, so a lot of people may have their own preferences. Now, if you’re a stickler for following recipes and you HAVE to have a measurement, start with 1/4 tsp of each. I suggest adding more cinnamon than anything else, and I also like mine a bit more spicy, so maybe more chili powder too.

photo 2

Personally, I don’t like recipes. To me, recipes are guidelines. They tell you what kind of flavors are going to taste good together and give you a basic ratio to work with. I ALWAYS engage in playing around with ingredients. I sub what I don’t have handy for what “will do” and I add more of ingredients I like more. My mom sometimes watches me cook and doesn’t understand how I just guess. I think it makes perfect sense.

photo 3

Nutritional Facts:

*Serving size is 1/2 cup –feel free to eat more once you taste how delicious this is

Calories: 121

Carbs: 21g

Protein: 2g

Fat: 4g

Just 1/2 cup serving provides 35% of our daily need for Vitamin A! And don’t skimp on the 1 tbsp of EVOO for this recipe just to avoid fat, our body needs a little fat to fully absorb this vitamin. Also, even though sweet potatoes are definitely sweet, they have a low glycemic index and contain about 3g of fiber per sweet potato! And if you’re looking for an extra antioxidant or antiviral bonus, swap regular sweet potatoes for the purple variety. 

Leave a Reply

