Tropical Matcha Protein Bowl

Tropical Matcha Protein Bowl

They may look weird, but I LOVE me some green shakes! Whenever I feel like I need a superfood spirula boost, I put a teaspoon of powdered spirulina in my shake and it turns this gorgeous, deep green color. Plus, with the matcha, this shake gives you a real energy boost!

matcha2

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 6-8 oz unsweetened flaxmilk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use Vega Sport)
  • 4 tsp tropical fruit matcha (by Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 tsp powdered spirulina (I used Earth Rise)
  • Optional: 1 cup spinach

matcha5

Instructions:

  1. Start by blending your ice, mango & flaxmilk together. This gives the blender a chance to work on getting the big chunks broken down before muddling the shake with more ingredients
  2. Add the other ingredients and blend. Add more flaxmilk or ice as needed to alter the consistency.

matcha7

matcha8 I love this tropical matcha blend, but surely regular matcha would still be delicious in this recipe.

matcha6

This is the flaxmilk that I use. This company makes 3 flavors, unsweetened, sweetened and vanilla. I think the unsweetened has such great flavor, I’ve never tried the other two! Second to coconut milk, (and homemade alternative milk) this is my favorite, go to brand. It’s low cal and packed with omega-3’s.

matcha10You can use any kind of spirulina in this recipe, I just love this powder made by Earth Rise. It’s grown here in California! Just one teaspoon of spirulina contains 3-4 servings of vegetables, 2g protein, Vitamin A, Iron, Chlorophyll, antioxidants, essential fats, and many other vitamins and minerals. Now THAT’S a superfood!

Nutritional Facts:

*Including spinach but no additional toppings as shown

Calories: 273

Carbs: 31g

Protein: 29g

Fat: 3g

*This recipe contains just over 2g of fiber, and is PACKED with Vitamins A & C. It is also a good source of Calcium and potassium. Drink up!

Leave a Reply

