Vegan “The Works” Pizza

Vegan “The Works” Pizza

This pizza is straight up drool worthy. I’m the kind of person that likes as many toppings as you can fit on a pizza, and I was lucky enough to have so many awesome toppings at my fingertips the night I made this masterpiece. Plus, the use of 2 types of vegan cheezes really jazzed the taste up. Feel free to edit, add..and then drool eating it.

vegan pizzaIngredients:

  • 1 bag whole wheat pizza dough (Trader Joe’s)
  • Approx. scant 1 cup Pizza/Spaghetti sauce (I personally like Garlic flavored tomato sauce)
  • 1/3 cup each Vegan mozzarella & vegan cheddar (I used Daiya)
  • 1/2 cup Roasted eggplant
  • 1/3 cup Black olives
  • 1/3 cup Crimini mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup Marinated artichoke hearts
  • 1 cup Spinach
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Black Pepper

Instructions:

  1. Take the dough out of the bag and set on a pizza board that has been floured with cornmeal or just floured, let it rest for 15-20 minutes
  2. Preheat the oven to 450
  3. Roll the dough out to desired thickness, I like it about a 1/4 inch thick, and rustically shaped
  4. Top with sauce, cheeze and veggies. Don’t forget the garlic and pepper
  5. Slide the pizza into the oven (I use a pizza stone) and bake for 11-13 minutes
  6. Let the pizza cool and rest for a minute before cutting, this is the hardest part! (I like to use kitchen scissors for an easy, quick cut)

Nutritional Facts:

*Based on the pizza being cut into 8 slices, and 2 slices per serving*

Calories: 353

Carbs: 58g

Protein: 8g

Fat: 10g

Each serving has 6g of fiber! Tomatoes are high in lycopene, Vitamin A & C. Spinach is high in Iron, Vitamin K, Vitamin C, Vitamin B2, Calcium & Potassium, as well as many other minerals. Garlic is known for its anti-inflammatory & anti-viral properties, so load it on there!

With all of this in mind, remember, pizza is still a treat meal, so enjoy, but try NOT to eat half the pizza like I did! Here’s a little trick, if I’m eating the pizza by myself, I’ll take my serving but cut up the rest in portion controlled, zip-lock bags and freeze them. Also, you can choose to have your pizza and eat it too, by cutting the serving size down to a slice and having it with a healthier option like a cup of tomato soup or a big, green salad.

Leave a Reply

