About the blog

554369_10151347265498996_1277354667_n

Hi everyone! First of all, please let me thank you for taking a look at my blog, your support is appreciated! Well, I guess everyone has a story, so here’s mine in a relatively small nutshell.

When I was 14 or 15, I was diagnosed with a serious Irritable Bowel Disease called Crohn’s Disease. Luckily, we caught it early. I remember the doctor giving me prescriptions and follow up appointments, and I always disliked him. A few years later, I must have woken up and realized that I could take my health into my own hands (and out of his), so I started to change. I always say, “When you know better, you do better”, which basically means you can only do as much as you have the knowledge of at the time. Little by little, I ate more vegetables and read articles in health magazines about things like antioxidants, ab exercises and the benefits of positive thinking. I loved it, absorbed everything I could and changed my habits more times than you could count.

Fast forward to college, where a vegetarian friend and coworker sparked my long-time interest in the lifestyle. I would tell her when I ate a meal without meat, and her lifestyle would motivate me to stay on track. Sooner than I thought, a self-proclaimed carnivore and burger-addict didn’t miss meat. It was a long time before I decided to explore a vegan diet. I don’t like the seriousness or the pressure of a title, so I consider myself 95% vegan (I allow for slip-ups and times when the choice is vegetarian-or-starve). It hasn’t been long, but the temptations are fewer and far between, and I am loving my choice more than ever!

Which brings me to my next point, why am I doing this blog? Well, for starters, it’s not my first. I love sharing my life, offering advice and showing people my creative side through writing and cooking. And I absolutely, positively, for the rest of my life, want to help people. I want to empower people, let them know they can take hold of their lives, their health and their future. I did. And everyone can. I’ve been med-free and in remission for years, and I have no doubt in my mind that it’s from all of the wholesome food and the sweat I have devoted my life to. I believe I’ve cured myself… and I want to share that power with you.

So start reading. Little by little, learn. Learn what you can do to change. What can you incorporate in your life, or get rid of to improve the way you get from day to day? Life has enough struggles, don’t make it harder on yourself by sitting on your bum eating doughnuts and complaining about thigh gaps. Get yourself out there. Go for a run, lift something heavy, join a yoga studio, buy yourself a blender and lots of spinach. And don’t forget to smile.

Namaste,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

